Skip to content
NuBloom
Insurance & Billing

IBCLC Billing 2026: CPT Codes, Rates & Superbills

Common CPT, HCPCS, and ICD-10-CM codes used in lactation billing, plus payer eligibility, current cash-price examples, and a practical superbill checklist.

NuBloom TeamUpdated 18 min read

IBCLC training covers clinical care. It usually does not cover payer enrollment, claim forms, or the difference between having a billing code and being allowed to use it.

This guide covers the billing decisions that come up most often in private practice: how you will be paid, which code families may fit, who goes on the claim, and what to put on a superbill. If you are setting up your practice, start with Starting Your IBCLC Private Practice. If you are still working toward certification, see How to Become an IBCLC.

Billing rules depend on your license, state law, payer contract, and the Patient's plan. A code describes a service. It does not make a provider eligible for payment. Confirm your billing status and code choice with the payer before submitting a claim.

The two billing models

Cash pay with a superbill

The Patient pays you at the time of service. You then provide a superbill, which is an itemized receipt the Patient can submit with the plan's member claim form. Out-of-network reimbursement is possible only when the plan covers the service and accepts the provider and code. A superbill is not a promise of reimbursement.

This model pays the practice at the time of service and leaves the member claim with the Patient. Its main drawback is the upfront cost to the family.

Direct insurance billing

The practice submits the claim. To receive in-network payment, you generally need more than an NPI: the payer must accept your provider type, complete any credentialing and enrollment, contract with you when applicable, and assign an effective date. The Patient may still owe a copay, coinsurance, deductible, or a noncovered amount under the plan.

Published timelines usually begin only after the payer has a complete application. For example, UnitedHealthcare says its credentialing process generally takes up to 45 calendar days or more, while Cigna gives a standard 45 to 60 day range. Network-need review and contracting can add time, and applying does not guarantee acceptance.

Medicaid can be a direct billing route in states that enroll IBCLCs or recognize another eligible provider type. It is not available on the same terms in every state. Check the IBCLC State Licensure and Medicaid Map before applying.

For the larger paneling framework, see How IBCLCs Get In-Network Insurance Coverage. For a comparison of cash pay, direct billing, and The Lactation Network, see TLN vs. Direct-Bill vs. Cash-Pay.

Start with billing eligibility

An IBCLC certification does not, by itself, make every CPT code billable under your name. The answer depends on which provider type the payer recognizes.

  • An IBCLC whom a payer or state program enrolls directly may use the codes that program authorizes.
  • A physician or other qualified health care professional may use E/M codes when their license, scope, and payer agreement permit it.
  • An IBCLC working for another practice may render services under a payer-specific supervisory or billing arrangement. Do not assume that Medicare's "incident-to" rules apply to a commercial plan.
  • An NPI identifies a provider. CMS states that receiving one does not prove licensure or credentialing and does not guarantee payment.

If you are unsure whose name and NPI belong on the claim, read Who Can Bill for Lactation Services, and Under Whose NPI? before choosing a code.

Common procedure code families

CodeWhat it describesMain limitation to check
99401-99404Individual preventive counseling, with levels tied to counseling timeWhether the payer covers the code for lactation and accepts your provider type
99202-99205New Patient office or outpatient E/M servicesOnly for a billing professional who is eligible to report E/M services
99211-99215Established Patient office or outpatient E/M servicesSame E/M eligibility rule; "follow-up" does not automatically mean established under every payer's rules
99341-99342, 99344-99345, 99347-99350New or established Patient home or residence E/M servicesOnly for an eligible E/M professional; the service setting, Patient status, MDM or time, and POS must all fit
98000-98007New or established Patient synchronous audio-video E/M servicesOnly for an eligible physician or QHP; do not report with an applicable same-day in-person E/M
98008-98015New or established Patient synchronous audio-only E/M servicesOnly for an eligible physician or QHP; more than 10 minutes of medical discussion and the same-day E/M restriction apply
S9443Lactation classes, nonphysician provider, per sessionThe national descriptor says "class," but some Medicaid programs also use it for individual care; follow the payer's modifier and unit rules
96160Patient-focused health risk assessment, with scoring and documentationUse when the person screened is the Patient and the payer covers the service
96161Caregiver-focused health risk assessment for the benefit of the Patient, with scoring and documentationOften relevant when the infant is the Patient and the parent completes a standardized screen; it is not a general lactation visit code

Payers do not all accept the same code families. Illinois Medicaid and Colorado Medicaid, for example, publish different S9443 modifier and unit instructions for individual and group services. The code's presence in the national HCPCS set does not mean Medicare or a commercial plan will pay it.

Office and outpatient E/M codes

Use this table only if the billing professional is eligible to report E/M services. Under current AMA rules, select an office or outpatient E/M level by medical decision making or by the reporting physician or qualified health care professional's total time on the date of service.

CodePatient statusMDM levelMinimum time when time selects the code
99202NewStraightforward15 minutes
99203NewLow30 minutes
99204NewModerate45 minutes
99205NewHigh60 minutes
99211EstablishedMinimal service; the physician or QHP may not be requiredNo time level
99212EstablishedStraightforward10 minutes
99213EstablishedLow20 minutes
99214EstablishedModerate30 minutes
99215EstablishedHigh40 minutes

The office and outpatient descriptors now use minimum times. If time selects the level, count only qualifying work performed on that date by the reporting physician or qualified health care professional. Same-day record review, evaluation, counseling, care coordination, and documentation may count. Clinical staff time and time spent on separately reported services do not.

Medical decision making is a separate path. A diagnosis does not establish an E/M level on its own. The record must support the problems addressed, data reviewed or analyzed, and risk of Patient management at the reported level. If you use time, document the total qualifying time.

Prolonged services

Across the E/M families covered here, 99417 is an add-on only to a highest-level service selected by time. The first unit begins at 75 minutes with 99205, 98003, or 98011; 55 minutes with 99215, 98007, or 98015; 90 minutes with 99345; and 75 minutes with 99350. Each additional unit requires another 15 minutes. Do not use 99417 when MDM selected the base service, and confirm that the payer accepts the add-on.

Medicare uses G2212 instead of 99417 for office and outpatient E/M prolonged time. CMS starts the first G2212 unit at 89 minutes with 99205 or 69 minutes with 99215. This Medicare rule matters only when the billing practitioner and service are Medicare eligible; an IBCLC certification alone is not a Medicare enrollment category.

Home or residence E/M codes

Home or residence E/M is its own code family. Do not substitute an office code only because the same clinical work could have happened in an office. The service must occur in a qualifying residence setting, and only a professional eligible to report E/M may use the family. Select the level by documented MDM or the reporting physician or QHP's qualifying time. Travel time does not count.

CodePatient statusMDM levelMinimum time when time selects the code
99341NewStraightforward15 minutes
99342NewLow30 minutes
99344NewModerate60 minutes
99345NewHigh75 minutes
99347EstablishedStraightforward20 minutes
99348EstablishedLow30 minutes
99349EstablishedModerate40 minutes
99350EstablishedHigh60 minutes

Use POS 12 when the service occurs in the Patient's home. Assisted living, a group home not licensed as an intermediate care facility for people with intellectual disabilities, custodial care, and residential substance-use treatment settings use other POS codes within the same E/M family.

For CPT prolonged time, the first 99417 unit begins at 90 minutes with time-selected 99345 or 75 minutes with time-selected 99350. Medicare uses G0318 instead of 99417 for prolonged home or residence E/M; do not report both. Its first-unit thresholds are 140 minutes with 99345 and 110 minutes with 99350, and CMS counts qualifying time from three days before through seven days after the visit. Confirm every prolonged-service requirement before reporting it.

Synchronous audio-video E/M codes

Codes 98000-98003 cover new Patient synchronous audio-video E/M, and 98004-98007 cover established Patient services. Their MDM levels and time thresholds mirror 99202-99205 and 99212-99215. The service must be a real-time audio-video encounter and is not reported with a same-day in-person E/M.

These codes identify the modality themselves. Do not add a telehealth modifier to them by default. Some payers instead instruct the professional to report the underlying 99202-99215 code with the payer's POS and modifier rules. Never report both paths for one service. CPT prolonged code 99417 can begin at 75 minutes with time-selected 98003 or 55 minutes with time-selected 98007.

Phone, audio-only, and online services

These codes have narrow definitions and provider requirements:

  • 98966-98968 describe Patient-initiated telephone assessment and management for an established Patient by a qualified nonphysician health care professional who may not report E/M services. Time bands are 5 to 10, 11 to 20, and 21 to 30 minutes. They do not apply when the call follows a related assessment within the previous seven days or leads to a service or procedure within the next 24 hours or soonest available appointment.
  • 98008-98015 describe synchronous audio-only telemedicine E/M visits by a physician or other qualified health care professional. The service must include more than 10 minutes of medical discussion and is not reported with a same-day in-person E/M. These codes replaced the longer former telephone E/M codes 99442 and 99443 in 2025. 98016 is the established Patient brief communication technology service and requires 5 to 10 minutes of medical discussion. It does not apply when the communication relates to an E/M service in the previous seven days or leads to an E/M service or procedure within the next 24 hours or soonest available appointment.
  • 99421-99423 describe Patient-initiated online digital E/M for an established Patient. Report one code per seven-day period based on cumulative physician or qualified health care professional time: 5 to 10, 11 to 20, or at least 21 minutes. Do not report it on a day when the same physician or qualified health care professional reports an E/M service.

IBCLC certification alone does not establish eligibility for any of these services. Medicare does not list 98000-98015 as separately payable telehealth codes for 2026 and uses the underlying eligible service code under its own rules. Commercial and Medicaid policies vary.

Telehealth modifiers and place of service

For professional claims, the Patient's location determines the place of service:

Code or modifierMeaning
POS 02Telehealth provided when the Patient is somewhere other than home
POS 10Telehealth provided while the Patient is at home
Modifier 95Synchronous audio-video telemedicine
Modifier 93Synchronous audio-only telemedicine
Modifier GTLegacy interactive telecommunications modifier that some payers still instruct providers to use

Do not add every telehealth marker by default. Follow the payer's current billing guide for the base code, POS, modifier, and coverage rule. State practice law also applies when the Patient is in another state.

ICD-10-CM diagnosis codes

The diagnosis must match the Patient and the condition documented in the record. Use only diagnoses that a qualified professional has established within their scope. Do not choose a diagnosis because it is likely to pay.

The descriptions below match the official ICD-10-CM files in effect for services from April 1 through September 30, 2026. The FY 2027 code set has already been published, but it does not take effect until October 1, 2026. Always use the code set in effect on the date of service.

Maternal diagnoses and care

CodeOfficial description
Z39.1Encounter for care and examination of lactating mother
O92.3Agalactia
O92.4Hypogalactia
O92.5Suppressed lactation
O92.6Galactorrhea
O92.70Unspecified disorders of lactation
O92.79Other disorders of lactation
O92.03Retracted nipple associated with lactation
O92.13Cracked nipple associated with lactation
O91.03Infection of nipple associated with lactation
O91.13Abscess of breast associated with lactation
O91.23Nonpurulent mastitis associated with lactation
N64.82Hypoplasia of breast
Z13.32Encounter for screening for maternal depression

Breast codes in N60-N65, such as N64.0 (fissure of nipple) and N64.4 (mastodynia), exclude breast disorders associated with childbirth (O91-O92). For a cracked nipple associated with lactation, the ICD-10-CM index gives O92.13. For another breast disorder associated with lactation, it gives O92.70, or O92.79 when the disorder is specified.

Do not switch from an obstetric code to a non-obstetric code merely because a payer rejects the claim or six weeks have passed. Code the documented condition under the official ICD-10-CM guidelines. For depression screening, use 96160 when the screened parent is the Patient. Use 96161 only when the parent is the caregiver and the screening is performed for the benefit of another Patient, such as the infant.

Infant diagnoses

CodeOfficial description
P92.1Regurgitation and rumination of newborn
P92.2Slow feeding of newborn
P92.3Underfeeding of newborn
P92.5Neonatal difficulty in feeding at breast
P92.6Failure to thrive in newborn
P92.9Feeding problem of newborn, unspecified
R63.30Feeding difficulties, unspecified
R63.31Pediatric feeding disorder, acute
R63.32Pediatric feeding disorder, chronic
R13.10Dysphagia, unspecified
P74.1Dehydration of newborn
P59.9Neonatal jaundice, unspecified
Q38.1Ankyloglossia

The P92 family describes conditions that originated in the perinatal period and are still present. Do not choose or reject one based on age alone; follow the official guidelines and the documentation. A suspected "lip tie" should not automatically be coded as Q38.0; that code's official description is congenital malformations of lips, not elsewhere classified.

Who is the Patient?

A professional claim names one Patient. Maternal diagnoses belong on the parent's claim, while infant diagnoses belong on the infant's claim.

Many lactation encounters involve both members of the dyad. If you bill them separately, each claim must represent care actually provided to that Patient, use the correct coverage information, and follow the payer's dyad rules. Do not duplicate one service or charge across two claims.

A practical superbill checklist

There is no single federal superbill template that every plan accepts. A superbill is supporting documentation for a member-filed claim, and the Patient may also need the plan's claim form and proof of payment. Check the instructions on the insurance card or member portal.

Payer forms commonly ask for:

  1. Provider details

    • Legal name, credentials, and business name when applicable
    • Address and phone number
    • Type 1 rendering NPI and Type 2 billing NPI when applicable
    • Taxpayer identification number when the payer requires it
  2. Patient and coverage details

    • Patient name and date of birth
    • Address
    • Member ID and relationship to the subscriber, usually entered on the plan's claim form
  3. Itemized service details

    • Date of service
    • Procedure or HCPCS code, modifiers, and units
    • ICD-10-CM diagnosis code or codes linked to the service
    • Place of service
    • Charge for each service, total charge, and amount paid
  4. Supporting items the plan requests

    • Provider signature or attestation if required by the form
    • Receipt or other proof of payment
    • Clinical records only when the plan asks for them or an appeal requires them

UnitedHealthcare's member claim instructions are one current example: they ask for the Patient name, provider TIN, diagnosis and procedure codes, modifiers, units, billed amount by line, and place of service. Another payer's list may differ.

Practice management software can prefill provider details and carry reviewed codes into the document, but the provider remains responsible for the final billing information.

Billing code review tool

Review possible code families and the checks that must be completed before billing.

An IBCLC credential alone does not establish billing eligibility. Confirm the reporting professional's license, scope, enrollment, contract, documentation, and current payer policy. This tool does not choose a final code.

This flow reviews common office, home or residence, synchronous audio-video, synchronous audio-only, and qualified-nonphysician telephone paths. Preventive counseling, S9443 classes, health-risk screening, brief communication, and asynchronous digital E/M require separate service-specific review.

1. Service and Patient status

2. Code-selection basis

3. Patient and documented concern

Who is named as the Patient?

Setting cash-pay rates

There is no reliable national survey that establishes a "typical" private-practice IBCLC fee. Published prices are useful local comparisons, not national benchmarks. These examples were checked on September 11, 2026:

Published practiceMarketExamples of listed self-pay prices
Home Grown IBCLCIdaho$125 initial home visit, $100 initial virtual visit, $100 home follow-up, $75 virtual follow-up
Shawn Austin, RN, IBCLCMassachusetts$200 for a 1.5-hour initial home visit, $175 per hour for a home follow-up, $75 per hour for a virtual consultation
Bayou City BreastfeedingHoustonTimely-payment-discount self-pay: $225 initial office visit, $295 initial home visit, $150 initial telehealth visit
Caroline Carter, IBCLCSan Francisco$350 initial home visit and $150 per hour for a follow-up

Use nearby practices that offer comparable visit lengths and services, then test the fee against your own visit time, travel, follow-up work, overhead, and cancellation policy. Review the rate periodically instead of treating a national range as a rule.

If a Patient is uninsured or is choosing not to use insurance, the federal Good Faith Estimate rule generally requires an estimate when the Patient requests one or schedules care at least three business days in advance. The estimate is provided before care and is separate from the superbill issued after care. See the Good Faith Estimate guide for the full workflow.

Insurance reimbursement is payer specific

There is no dependable national reimbursement range for an IBCLC visit. Medicaid amounts depend on the state, provider type, setting, code, modifiers, and units. Commercial allowed amounts depend on the contract and plan. Ask for the applicable fee schedule before signing a contract and test the actual allowed amount against the work required for the visit.

The Affordable Care Act rule is narrower than "all lactation visits are free." Non-grandfathered group and individual plans generally must cover recommended breastfeeding support and counseling without cost sharing, subject to reasonable medical management. Federal guidance also says that when a plan has no in-network provider able to furnish the preventive service, it must cover an eligible out-of-network provider without cost sharing. The rule does not decide which code pays or make every IBCLC independently billable.

Credentialing checklist

  1. Confirm the billing identity first. Ask whether the payer accepts your license or certification, taxonomy, and practice arrangement for direct billing.
  2. Get the appropriate NPI. A solo professional uses a Type 1 NPI; an organization may also need a Type 2 NPI. The NPI does not enroll or credential you.
  3. Complete the CAQH Provider Data Portal profile if the payer uses it. The portal is now offered by DataSpring, powered by CAQH. Keep the profile and documents current and authorize the payer to access them.
  4. Submit each payer's participation or enrollment request. A CAQH profile is a data source, not a universal network application.
  5. Review the contract and fee schedule. Confirm accepted codes, modifiers, telehealth rules, prior authorization, timely filing, and the effective date.
  6. Set up claim operations. Complete any EFT, ERA, clearinghouse, portal, and payer-ID work before the first submission.
  7. Verify benefits for the specific Patient. Coverage for breastfeeding support does not settle provider eligibility, visit limits, authorization, or claim coding. Use the pre-visit lactation insurance verification checklist to record what you have confirmed.

See Commercial Insurance Paneling for IBCLCs for payer-specific entry points.

Common billing mistakes

Choosing a code before confirming who can bill it. An NPI and an IBCLC certification do not automatically make E/M or telemedicine E/M codes payable.

Treating an initial visit as a new Patient E/M visit. "New" and "established" have coding definitions. They do not simply mean first consult and follow-up.

Selecting E/M complexity from one diagnosis. Medical decision making uses the problems addressed, data, and management risk. When time selects the code, use the reporting professional's qualifying same-day time instead.

Leaving time unsupported. If time selects an E/M level, document the total qualifying time. A concise entry is enough when it accurately describes the work.

Billing the wrong Patient. Maternal diagnoses on an infant claim, or infant diagnoses on a parent's claim, can cause a rejection or denial.

Assuming every plan wants the same superbill. Give the Patient the itemized receipt, then check whether the plan also requires its member claim form, a receipt, or other fields.

For appeal steps after a denial, see Lactation Claim Denied? An IBCLC's Appeals Guide.

A workable billing workflow

  1. Before the visit: Confirm billing eligibility and benefits, then give the Good Faith Estimate when required.
  2. During the visit: Document the care for the correct Patient and record any time or screening details the selected code requires.
  3. Before finalizing: Review the procedure, diagnosis, modifier, units, place of service, and charge. Software suggestions are a starting point, not the final coding decision.
  4. After the visit: Collect payment and issue the superbill, or submit the claim through your payer or clearinghouse workflow.
  5. Follow up: Reconcile the remittance or help the Patient respond to a member-claim request without promising reimbursement.

NuBloom can copy structured ICD-10-CM diagnoses from a signed visit into the matching parent or infant superbill and prefill the procedure code configured for the service. The provider reviews the document before finalizing it. NuBloom generates printable superbills, and practices that turn on claim filing can send supported primary and secondary claims from a finalized superbill through a clearinghouse. See NuBloom's billing features.

The ICD-10-CM descriptions in this guide apply to dates of service through September 30, 2026. The FY 2027 set takes effect October 1, 2026.

Sources

billingcpt-codesinsurance

Be done when the visit is done

Booking, charting, and payments in one place. The chart even works offline, so the note is done before you leave the driveway.